Undergraduate Council

Political Science Undergraduate Council

The Political Science Undergraduate Council consists of the Director of Undergraduate Studies, Professor Laurel Harbridge, Undergraduate Program Assistant Pamela Straw, our departmental Student Advisory Board (SAB) Representatives and select self-nominated students. The SAB representatives Co-chair the Political Science Undergraduate Council and lead the initiatives. Together, the Council works to plan events to facilitate faculty-student interaction, solicit student feedback and promote and improve Undergraduate student engagement and community in the department.

Please contact your Political Science Undergraduate Council with suggested events you would like to see in the department. Any suggestions and questions are welcome!

The 2017-2018 Political Science Undergraduate Council Members are:

Kate Schlough, Political Science Undergraduate Council Co-chair & Student Advisory Board Rep

Political Science

Class of 2018


Kate is interested in international security and U.S. foreign policy, as well as international and domestic law. She recently interned for Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan through the Chicago Field Studies Program, and among other things here on campus she is involved in the leadership of Northwestern’s Model United Nations. As a senior, she looks forward to deciding exactly what it is she will be pursuing next year, and is always open to talking about politics, books, and ballet.

Brianna Willis, Political Science Undergraduate Council Co-chair & Student Advisory Board Rep

Political Science

Class of 2019


Brianna Willis is a rising junior majoring in Political Science with hopes of becoming a speechwriter. She is particularly interested in American politics and voting behavior amongst different racial and socioeconomic groups. She is also a member of the Speech team and co-president of NerfWestern. 

 Hansuh Rhee, Political Science Undergraduate Council Co-chair & Student Advisory Board Rep

Political Science

Class of 2018


Hansuh is interested in American politics, international diplomacy, and the justice system. In addition to previous research experience as a Farrell Fellow, she has worked for Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky and the Juvenile Court System in Cook County. She hopes to enter graduate school and work in the public sector in the future.  

Political Science Representatives to the Weinberg College Student Advisory Board

The Weinberg College Student Advisory Board (SAB) is the primary source of student advice to the Dean of the College and the Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies.  In the department of Political Science, the SAB representatives are also responsible for co-chairing the Political Science Undergraduate Council.

The SAB plays a central role in the College by:

  • Helping nominate faculty and TAs for Weinberg College Outstanding Teaching awards;
  • Selecting Weinberg College students to serve on several vital committees; and
  • Recommending a speaker for Weinberg College's Senior Convocation to the Dean.

The political science department has two SAB representatives, selected by the undergraduate committee. The SAB elects its own officers.

The SAB welcomes your input

  • Email your comments, questions, or concerns about your major/minor, political science classes, or the College to your SAB representative.
  • Recommend outstanding professors or TAs for Weinberg teaching awards. Nomination guildelines are available online.