Skip to main content

Recent News

Former U.S. Ambassador to Russia Michael McFaul Visits Northwestern

May 21, 2019 – from Northwestern Business Review
Last Thursday, the Northwestern Political Science department welcomed former U.S. Ambassador to Russia Michael McFaul as the annual speaker of the 2018–19 Weber Lecture. McFaul gave a detailed account of his five years in the Obama administration and his views on U.S.- Russia relations before taking questions from the audience.

Tom Ogorzalek | Yes, Lori Lightfoot’s election as Chicago mayor was historic. But how will she govern?

April 17, 2019 – from Washington Post, MonkeyCage blog
Lightfoot, much like Harold Washington, campaigned as a political outsider and reformer. She promised to take on the persistent corruption in Chicago and Illinois politics, and these positions became particularly persuasive after corruption scandals that ripped through the city’s machine organization late last year. Last week’s election was an historic first — but it was also a historic margin of victory, big enough to impress any ward boss. And Lightfoot won in every part of an often-divided city.

Wendy Pearlman | Video: Young Progressives Are Increasingly Critical of Israel. Here's Why

April 11, 2019 – from Newsy
"We should have an honest conversation about the U.S. role in enabling Israeli policies such as the settlement expansion, such as denial of Palestinian rights. It's not impossible to have an open conversation that is sensitive, but sensitive not only to the sensitivities of American Jews, but to American Muslims, to American Arabs, to people of all different faiths and backgrounds."
Back to top