Skip to main content

A Message from the Department

Professor S. Sara Monoson completes her three-year term as Chair on August 31, 2018. We are pleased to announce that Professor Jeffrey Winters has agreed to serve as Chair of the Department of Political Science for a one-year term, September 1, 2018 to August 31, 2019.

Over the past three years, we advanced some common strategic goals. In particular, we have built a robust methods program, secured our signature faculty strengths with appointments, promotion and retentions, established the Center for the Study of Diversity and Democracy (CSDD), developed our alumni network, improved regular faculty and student services, celebrated excellent graduate placements and undergraduate awards, doubled the number of honor theses being undertaken, expanded the opportunities available to undergrad majors beyond the classroom and set in motion new undergraduate study pathways. All on top of some exceptional research, publication, grants and teaching successes by faculty and graduate students.  We are all looking forward to the next year and beyond.

Back to top