Commune and Working Groups


The Commune is the organization of graduate students in political science at Northwestern. It traces its history to 1968. It provides advice to the department on teaching, recruitment, and other important matters. It also organizes activities for graduate students. Composed of all students currently enrolled in the program, the Commune elects representatives to speak for the graduate community as a whole.

Co-chairs for the 2012-2013 academic year are Jeni Forestal and Desiree Weber


Latin America Working Group

The Latin American Graduate Student Group (LAGSG) serves as a forum where graduate students studying Latin America can gather to discuss current events and their own relevant research in a supportive interdisciplinary environment. Meetings showcase works in progress of current graduate students while making space for ample feedback, questions, and debate. Faculty and visiting scholars are welcome to attend and participate.


Political Theory Workshop

The Political Theory Working Group provides a forum for graduate students and faculty members to share ideas in a formal setting outside of the course work portion of the PhD program. Founded and organized by graduate students in the Department of Political Science, the Political Theory Working Group hosts a series of meetings throughout the academic year. Graduate students and faculty members from Northwestern and other institutions are invited to present work in all forms and modes of political theory. Each presentation forms the basis of a response from a chosen discussant and is then the subject of an open discussion.

Co-chairs for the 2012-2013 academic year are Menaka Philips and Arda Gucler

American Politics Working Group

The American Politics Student Workshop meets monthly, during which time graduate students give formal presentations of their ongoing research in a conference format. Student discussants are assigned to critique each presenter, so as to provide us with an opportunity to practice both the skill of presenting our own work and the art of giving constructive feedback to others. This workshop is attended only by graduate students with an interest in American Politics.

Co-chairs for the 2012-2013 academic year are Samara Klar and Mara Suttman-Lea